University of Georgia Names Leadership Academy After Longtime Administrator

Vivian H. Fisher was an administrator for 30 years, who retired in 2008 as associate vice president for public service and outreach.

Honors for Two Black Scholars

Tonea Stewart of Alabama State University and Babatunde Ogunnaike of the University of Delaware receive prestigious honors.

Creighton University Professor Is the Inaugural Recipient of the Louis Sullivan Leadership Award

Sade Kosoko-Lasaki, an ophthalmologist and surgeon, was honored by the American Association of Physician Specialists.

Two Black Women Academics Honored With Prestigious Awards

Valorie McAlpin of the University of North Carolina Charlotte and Margaret Young of Elizabeth City State University are the honorees.

Honors for Two African American Educators

Angela Winstead of Morgan State University receives a teaching award for Black chemists and an endowed chair at Fayetteville State University honors Dudley Flood.

Denise M. Linton Named Nurse Educator of the Year

She is the Dudley Joseph Plaisance Sr. BORSF Professor of Nursing at the University of Louisiana Lafayette's College of Nursing and Allied Health Professions.

An Honor for the Africana Studies Department at the University of Cincinnati

The department received the Sankore Institutional Award from the National Council for Black Studies at the council's annual convention in Atlanta.

Black Student Dominates Awards at Graduation Ceremony of Lehman College

Olu Onemola, son of Nigeria's deputy ambassador to the United Nations, received seven honors at the graduation ceremony of Lehman College of the City University of New York.

Bernard Richardson Inducted Into the Washington, D.C. Hall of Fame

Rev. Richardson, dean of the Andrew Rankin Memorial Chapel at Howard University, was recognized for his work and contributions to the city and faith-based community.

Cathy Cohen Honored for Her Undergraduate Teaching

The Quantrell Award, established in 1938 at the University of Chicago, is considered the nation's oldest prize for undergraduate teaching.

Leonard L. Haynes III Honored for a Lifetime of Service in Higher Education

The senior director of institutional services for the Office of Postsecondary Education at the U.S. Department of Education, was elected into the Education and Human Ecology Hall of Fame at Ohio State University.

Two Black Scholars Win Prestigious Awards

Victor Mbarika of Southern University was honored by the Cameroon Association of Engineers and Computer Scientists and Timuel Black won the Benton Medal from the University of Chicago.

University of San Francisco Political Scientist Wins Book Award

James Lance Taylor was honored for his book Black Nationalism in the United States: From Malcolm X to Barack Obama.

University of Georgia Chemist Wins Humboldt Research Award

Gregory Robinson will receive a cash award of 60,000 euros and conduct research with chemists at Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg and the Technical University of Berlin.

A Trio of Black Professors Win Awards

The honorees are Geralyn Stephens of Wayne State University, Donald Anadu of South Carolina State University and Lee David Legette of Winston-Salem State University.

Jose Cossa Receives the 2012 Joyce Cain Award

The Comparative and International Education Society was honored for his research on education in southern Africa.

Honors for Three African American Scholars

Mina Jones Jefferson, William H. Harris, and Sandra C. Brown are the honorees.

Four African Americans Presented With Awards

M. Christopher Brown II, Sonja Trent-Brown, Isabel Wilkerson, and Nell Russell are honored for their work in higher education.

Two Black Poets Honored by the U.S. Postal Service

Robert Hayden and Gwendolyn Brooks are among 10 poets honored in a new series of stamps.

Two African American Scholars Win Prestigious Awards

Kofi Lomotey of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities and Carolyn Vallas of the University of Virginia are honored.

Two African American Scholars Honored by the American Educational Research Association

The American Educational Research Association recently honored Jeraldo F.L. Jackson and Robert T. Palmer for their scholarship relating to diversity.

University of Virginia Establishes Endowed Chair to Honor Retiring Professor Julian Bond

Julian Bond, the civil rights leaders and former chair of the NAACP, has spent the last 20 years on the history department faculty at the University of Virginia. He is retiring this week.

University of Kansas Scholar Wins Emerging Playwright Award

Darren Canady will be honored at the national conference of the American Theatre Critics Association.

Honors for Four Black Women in Higher Education

Wanda Spurlock, Denise Ghartey, Bernadette Nwafor, and Ruth J. Simmons are the honorees.

Universities Honored for Their Efforts to Increase Retention of Minority Engineering Students

The three winners of the National Society of Black Engineer's Impact Award are Michigan State University, the University of Houston, and the University of Maryland-College Park.

Architecture Students Win Diversity Scholarships

Chisom Ezekwo of the University of Southern California and Damian Bolden of Auburn University will receive financial aid and an internship.

NAFEO Creates Scholarships to Honor Norman C. Francis

Norman Francis of Xavier University of Louisiana is the longest-tenured university president in the United States.

Awards for a Trio of Black Scholars

Allissa Richardson, Damien Ejigiri, and Candace Jolly are honored with prestigious awards.

Toni Morrison Receives the Beacon Award at the University of Pennsylvania

Nobel laureate Morrison received the award for her strong commitment to advancing, supporting, and promoting women.

Honors for Three Black Scholars

John M. Wallace of the University of Pittsburgh, Judith Thomas of Lincoln University, and LeTondra Lawrence of Texas Woman's University, are honored with prestigious awards.

Edith Mitchell to Receive the Humanitarian Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology

She is clinical professor of medicine and medical oncology at Jefferson Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia.

Coast Guard Academy Honors Its First Black Graduate

In 1966, Merle Smith was the academy's first Black graduate. Today 5 percent of the cadets are Black.

Three African American Men Win Higher Education Honors

Ira T. Wiggins, C. Garnett Henning, and Geoffrey Canada are honored.

Two African American Scholars Win Prestigious Awards

Barbara Johnson of Northern Illinois University and Peter Williams of the University of Delaware are honored.

African American Anthropologist at MIT Wins the Levitan Prize in the Humanities

Erica Caple James will use the $25,000 cash prize to conduct research for a book on charitable giving by Muslim Americans in the War on Terror era.

Amber Koonce Named a Luce Scholar

The University of North Carolina senior will spend a year in Asia gaining knowledge of juvenile rights in that region.

Latest News