Two African American Women Honored by the International Reading Association

Patricia Edwards of Michigan State University and Charline Barnes Rowland of West Virginia University will be honored at the group's annual meeting in Chicago which convenes in April.

Three African American Men Honored for Their Work in Higher Education

Lonnie Norris, Azeez Aileru, and James Rosser win prestigious awards.

School of Education at Elizabeth City State University Named for Helen Marshall Caldwell

Dr. Caldwell first joined the faculty at ECSU in 1953 and served until 1997. She was vice chancellor for academic affairs for nine years.

Two African American College Presidents Honored by the American Council on Education

Ruth Simmons of Brown University and Beverly Daniel Tatum of Spelman College were honored at the Women's Leadership Dinner at the annual meeting of the American Council on Education in Los Angeles.

Honors for Four Black Men in Higher Education

Teju Cole, DeWayne Wickham, Alex Acholonu, and Sidney Ribeau win prestigious awards.

Three Black Women Scholars Win Prestigious Awards

The honorees are Barbara White of the University of Texas, Treva Lindsey of the University of Missouri, and Lonieta Cornwall of Shaw University.

Professor Dollye Robinson Honored for 60 Years of Service to Jackson State University

The university has bestowed the title of dean emerita on Dr. Robinson who first joined the music department faculty in 1952.

Portrait of John Hope Franklin Unveiled at Oklahoma State Capitol

John Hope Franklin, considered by many as one of the greatest historians of the twentieth century, was born in Rentiesville, Oklahoma, in 1915. His grandfather had been a slave.

A Trio of African Americans Receive Awards

Kendra Preer, Ron Thomas, and Lisa Jackson are the honorees.

Two Black Scholars Slated to Win Prestigious Awards

Harriet Hamilton will be honored by the National Association for Girls and Women in Sports and Osei K. Darkwa by the World Education Congress.

Emory Professor Wins Three Book Awards

Lawrence P. Jackson is honored for his book The Indignant Generation.

A Black Scholar Awarded the National Humanities Medal

Kwame Anthony Appiah was awarded the medal by President Obama at a White House ceremony.

Two African American Women Receive Honorary Degrees from the University of Alicante in Spain

Professors Linda Darling-Hammond of Stanford and Gloria Ladson-Billings of the University of Wisconsin are among the first three recipients of honorary degrees in education from the University of Alicante.

Three African American Men Honored With Prestigious Awards

Keith W. McIntosh of Pima County Community College, Cedric Gathings of Mississippi State, and Roland Smith of Rice University, are the honorees.

Marilyn Nelson to Receive the Frost Medal from the Poetry Society of America

She taught in the English department at the University of Connecticut from 1978 to 2002 and is the former poet laureate of Connecticut.

Two Howard University Students Awarded Luard Scholarships

They will spend their junior year abroad studying in the United Kingdom.

Honors for African Americans in Higher Education

Here are some notable awards and honors for African American scholars.

Vanderbilt University Professor Wins Outstanding Book Award

H. Richard Milner IV is being honored by the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education.

Kansas State Scholar Named Chief of African Village

Myra Gordon is associate provost for diversity at Kansas State and now a chief of the Nigerian village of Alayi.

Honors for Four African American College Officials

Brandon Brown, Zina McGee, Roderick McDavis, and Rosie Phillips Bingham win prestigious awards.

Shirley Ann Jackson to Be Honored by the AAAS

The president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute will be given an award at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Prestigious Awards for Three Black Scholars

Sade Kosoko-Lasaki, Gloria Boutte, and Sulayman Nyang are honored by their universities.

University of Washington Honors Its First African American Senior Administrator

The late Samuel E. Kelly was named vice president for minority affairs in 1970.

Twila Perry Honored by the Association of American Law Schools

She is a professor and the Alexander T. Waugh Scholar at the Rutgers University School of Law in Newark, New Jersey.

Dawn Wright Honored by the Association of American Geographers

She is affectionately known on the campus of Oregon State University as "Deepsea Dawn."

Three African American Women Are Rewarded for Inspiring Their Students

The Black women are among 15 honorees of the Gail McKnight Beckman Trust.

Two African American Women Slated to Receive Prestigious Awards

Bevlee Watford of Virginia Tech and Jacqueline Jones-Triche of Tuskegee University will be honored.

Amherst College Graduate Wins Rhodes Scholarship

Sebabatso Manoeli is one of 10 Rhodes winners from the southern Africa region.

An Honor for a Denver Lawyer Who Founded Law School Scholarship Fund

Gary M. Jackson was selected to receive the highest honor bestowed by the Colorado Bar Association.

Shayne Evans to Receive the Diversity Leadership Award From the University of Chicago

He will be honored on January 12 as part of the university's Martin Luther King Jr. birthday celebration.

Malika Jeffries-El Is a Rising Star in Academic Chemistry

She will be honored by the American Chemical Society at the group's national meeting in San Diego this March.

Harvard Graduate From South Africa Wins Rhodes Scholarship

Matthews Mmopi is one of 10 students selected for Rhodes Scholarships from southern Africa.

David Canton Wins the 2011 W.E.B. Du Bois Book Prize

The associate professor at Connecticut College was honored for his book on Raymond Pace Alexander.

Hope Lewis Is Honored by the American Bar Association

The Northeastern University law professor is recognized for her work for the advancement of women in the field of international law.

Mildred Rice Jordan and Gregory J. Vincent Are Honored

Two African American educators receive prestigious awards.

Clarence Jones Named Winner of the Legacy of a Dream Award

A former speechwriter for Martin Luther King Jr., he is currently a scholar-in-residence at Stanford University.

Latest News