Kansas State Scholar Named Chief of African Village

Myra Gordon is associate provost for diversity at Kansas State and now a chief of the Nigerian village of Alayi.

Honors for Four African American College Officials

Brandon Brown, Zina McGee, Roderick McDavis, and Rosie Phillips Bingham win prestigious awards.

Shirley Ann Jackson to Be Honored by the AAAS

The president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute will be given an award at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Prestigious Awards for Three Black Scholars

Sade Kosoko-Lasaki, Gloria Boutte, and Sulayman Nyang are honored by their universities.

University of Washington Honors Its First African American Senior Administrator

The late Samuel E. Kelly was named vice president for minority affairs in 1970.

Twila Perry Honored by the Association of American Law Schools

She is a professor and the Alexander T. Waugh Scholar at the Rutgers University School of Law in Newark, New Jersey.

Dawn Wright Honored by the Association of American Geographers

She is affectionately known on the campus of Oregon State University as "Deepsea Dawn."

Three African American Women Are Rewarded for Inspiring Their Students

The Black women are among 15 honorees of the Gail McKnight Beckman Trust.

Two African American Women Slated to Receive Prestigious Awards

Bevlee Watford of Virginia Tech and Jacqueline Jones-Triche of Tuskegee University will be honored.

Amherst College Graduate Wins Rhodes Scholarship

Sebabatso Manoeli is one of 10 Rhodes winners from the southern Africa region.

An Honor for a Denver Lawyer Who Founded Law School Scholarship Fund

Gary M. Jackson was selected to receive the highest honor bestowed by the Colorado Bar Association.

Shayne Evans to Receive the Diversity Leadership Award From the University of Chicago

He will be honored on January 12 as part of the university's Martin Luther King Jr. birthday celebration.

Malika Jeffries-El Is a Rising Star in Academic Chemistry

She will be honored by the American Chemical Society at the group's national meeting in San Diego this March.

Harvard Graduate From South Africa Wins Rhodes Scholarship

Matthews Mmopi is one of 10 students selected for Rhodes Scholarships from southern Africa.

David Canton Wins the 2011 W.E.B. Du Bois Book Prize

The associate professor at Connecticut College was honored for his book on Raymond Pace Alexander.

Hope Lewis Is Honored by the American Bar Association

The Northeastern University law professor is recognized for her work for the advancement of women in the field of international law.

Mildred Rice Jordan and Gregory J. Vincent Are Honored

Two African American educators receive prestigious awards.

Clarence Jones Named Winner of the Legacy of a Dream Award

A former speechwriter for Martin Luther King Jr., he is currently a scholar-in-residence at Stanford University.

Four African Americans Receive Distinguished Honors

The award winners are Cheryl Kirk-Duggan, Cynthia E. Nance, Bobby Wilson, and Floyd Little.

Sandy Darity Wins National Economic Association’s Highest Honor

The Duke University professor receives the Samuel Z. Westerfield Award.

Donna Brazile Awarded an Honorary Doctorate at North Carolina A&T State University

Brazile, an adjunct professor at Georgetown University, managed the 2000 presidential campaign of Al Gore.

Hampton University Senior Wins Marshall Scholarship

Kendyl Crawley-Crawford will study environmental science at the University College of London.

Four African American Academics Win Awards

Erica Lorraine Williams, Brenda Cartwright, Donald Andrews, and James Hill are honored.

Fellowship Program at DePaul University in Chicago Honors Arnold Mitchem

The new program will provide stipends to 50 undergraduate students to help them prepare for graduate school and careers in the academic world.

Honors and Awards

Cynthia Carleton Thompson and Belle S. Wheelan receive prestigious awards.

Honors for Four Black Educators

Tricia Bent-Goodley, Unoma Azuah, Amos Sawyer, and Bernadette Gray-Little received honors for their work.

Morgan State Legend Honored by the American Football Coaches Association

Edward P. Hurt was head coach for football, basketball, and track and field. He also served as athletics director.

Honors and Awards

A summary of this week’s significant awards bestowed on Blacks in higher education.

Three African American Scholars Win Presidential Mentoring Awards

Solomon Bililign, Winston Anderson, and Juan Gilbert will receive their awards at a White House ceremony later this year.

University of Kentucky Professor Honored for Her Poetry

Nikky Finney wins the National Book Award for her fourth volume of poems.

Four African-American Educators Honored With Awards

The honorees are Gloria Ladson-Billings, Beverly Tatum, Patty Wilson, and Alphonso Sanders.

Freeman Hrabowski Receives the Centennial Academic Leadership Award

Dr. Hrabowski will receive $500,000 from the Carnegie Corporation of New York, which he can use in support of academic programs at his discretion.

Five Honored With James Weldon Johnson Medals

The medals are awarded to individuals with "a deep and unwavering commitment to civil and human rights."

Honors and Awards

Four awards of note relating to African Americans in higher education.

HEAL Africa Wins the $1 Million Opus Prize

HEAL Africa has established 31 safe houses for women who have been victims of violence in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Honors and Awards

Four African Americans who were honored for their achievements in higher education.

Breaking News