Tag: Reed College

Colleges and Universities Appoint Five Black Scholars to Diversity Posts

Taking on new roles relating to diversity are Chyke A. Doubeni at Ohio State University, Sonel Shropshire at Delaware State University, Phyllis Esposito at Reed College in Portland, Oregon, Mark Black at the University of Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio, and Sheila Lloyd at Hampshire College in Amherst, Massachusetts.

Crystal Williams Will Be the Eighteenth President of the Rhode Island School of Design

President-elect Williams has been serving as a professor of English and vice president and associate provost for community & inclusion at Boston University. She began her academic career at Reed College in Portland, Oregon. She later served as associate vice president for strategic initiatives at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine.

Three African American Women Who Have Been Appointed to Dean Positions

Lynette Luckers is the new dean of counseling and completion services at Delaware County Community College in Media, Pennsylvania. Debbie G. Thomas has been appointed dean of the College of Education at Grambling State University in Louisiana and Tawana Parks was appointed the Martha A. Darling Dean of Students at Reed College in Portland. Oregon.

Ten African Americans Who Have Been Assigned to Administrative Posts in Higher Education

Here is this week’s roundup of African Americans who have been appointed to new administrative positions at colleges and universities throughout the United States.

Three African American Scholars Taking on New Roles or Assignments

Taking on new roles are Earlise C. Ward at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Gary C. Bennett at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, and Samiya Bashir at Reed College in Portland, Oregon.

In Memorian: Michael Steven Harper, 1938-2016

Michael S. Harper, who taught at Brown University in Providence for 43 years, was the first poet laureate of the state of Rhode Island.

New Administrative Posts for Nine African Americans in Higher Education

The new administrative appointees are Joyce A. Dixon, Yohuru Williams, Selina B. Kohn, Milyon Trulove, Denisha L. Hendricks, Destinee Waiters, Mathwon Howard, Lamont Hinson, and Gregory Harris.

Latest News