Ohio University Scholar Elected President of Journalism That Matters

Michelle_Ferrier_BannerMichelle Ferrier, associate dean for innovation, research/creative activity, and graduate studies at the Scripps College of Communication at Ohio University in Athens, was elected president of the organization, Journalism That Matters. She has served on the board of the organization for the past five years.

Established in 2001, Journalism That Matters is a nonprofit organization that aims to “foster collaboration, innovation, and action so that a diverse news and information ecosystem can thrive.”

Dr. Ferrier is a graduate of the University of Maryland, where she majored in journalism. She holds a master’s degree in journalism from the University of Memphis and a Ph.D. in texts and technology from the University of Central Florida in Orlando.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Tuskegee University Flight School Receives $6.7 Million in Federal Funding

With a $6.7 million investment from the federal government, Tuskegee University will launch a new bachelor's degree in aviation science. The program will teach students about aviation science and technology and provide them with flight school training.

Three African Americans Appointed to University Faculty Positions

The faculty appointments are Dexter Blackman at Morgan State University in Baltimore, Stephanie Henderson at Alcorn State University in Mississippi, and Yolanda Pierce at Vanderbilt University in Nashville.

Virginia State University Approved to Launch Master’s Degree in Data Analytics

The master's degree in data analytics will prepare students to use data to make strategic technology and business decisions. The new degree program will be the 14th established master's degree at Virginia State University.

Samuel Frimpong Honored for Outstanding Contributions to Mineral Industry Education

Dr. Frimpong was honored by the Society of Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration with the 2024 Mineral Industry Education Award. He currently serves as a professor of mineral engineering, the Robert H. Quenon Endowed Chair, and vice provost for graduate education at Missouri University of Science and Technology.

Featured Jobs