The Next Dean of the University of Connecticut School of Law

Eboni S. Nelson has been named the next dean of the University of Connecticut School of Law. Currently, she is associate dean for academic affairs and professor of law at the University of South Carolina School of Law. Nelson joined the faculty at the University of South Carolina in 2007. Earlier, Nelson taught for four years at the Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University in Houston. She will begin her new job on August 1.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to serve as the next dean of the University of Connecticut School of Law,” Professor Nelson said. “I am excited to lead this community of outstanding students, staff professionals, faculty, and alumni as we work together to educate students and the broader community about the law’s transformative power to shape and improve our society.”

Nelson’s research centers on equitable educational opportunities for minority and disadvantaged students as well as the intersection of consumer law and education. She teaches courses on contracts, commercial law, consumer law, and race, class, and education.

Professor Nelson is a summa cum laude graduate of Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, North Carolina and earned her law degree at Harvard University.

Related Articles


  1. So very proud of Professor Nelson and congratulate her on her most recent appointment. As a proud graduate of THE Texas Southern University (’64 and’71), and a recently retired faculty member with 37 years of service, I salute this outstanding woman and believe that her time at TSU helped shaped some of who she is as a professional today. You go, Girl! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Central State University to Merge Two Colleges to Optimize Resources and Efficiency

The primary goal of the merger is to improve operational efficiency, support increased enrollment, and optimize resources. Notably, the focus on operational streamlining does not include any plans for staff or faculty layoffs.

Four Black Scholars Selected for Dean Positions

The dean appointments are Chukwuka Onwumechili at Howard University, Myra Bozeman at Sinclair Community College in Dayton, Ohio, Joan Tilghman at Coppin State University in Baltimore, and Omolola Eniola-Adefeso at the University of Illinois.

Voorhees University Launches Its First Doctor of Education Degree Program

The new doctor of education in leadership program will offer two specialized tracks for students, preparing them to become successful leaders in their chosen educational field. Students can choose to focus their studies on either PK-12 education or higher education administration.

Fielding Graduate University Honors Ronald Mason for Lifetime Achievements in HBCU Leadership

Ronald Mason has served as president of three HBCUs: Jackson State University, Southern University and A&M College, and the University of the District of Columbia, where he was the longest tenured president in the university's history.

Featured Jobs