Four Black Scholars Appointed to Endowed Chairs at Major Universities

Barbara Ransby has been named to the John D. MacArthur Endowed Chair at the University of Illinois at Chicago. She is a professor of history, gender and women’s studies, and Black studies. Dr. Ransby is the author of three books including her latest work Making All Black Lives Matter: Reimagining Freedom in the 21st Century (University of California Press, 2018).

A native of Detroit, Dr. Ransby earned a bachelor’s degree in history from Columbia University and a master’s degree and Ph.D. in history from the University of Michigan.

Kiese Laymon is the inaugural holder of the Hubert H. McAlexander Chair of English at the University of Mississippi. He joined the faculty at the university in 2015 as a John and Renee Grisham Visiting Writer in Residence. Professor Laymon created the Catherine Coleman Initiative for the Arts and Social Justice in the department of English at the university to expose high school students to fine arts and creative writing. The initiative is named after his grandmother. Professor Laymon is the author of several books including Heavy: An American Memoir (Scribner, 2018).

Professor Laymon is a graduate of Oberlin College in Ohio. He earned a master of fine arts degree from Indiana University.

Annette Gordon-Reed, the Charles Warren Professor of American History at Harvard Law School and professor of history in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, has been named the Charles M. Loeb University Professor, Harvard’s highest faculty honor. She joined the faculty at Harvard in 2010 after teaching at New York Law School. Her book, The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family (W.W. Norton, 2008), won the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award.

Professor Gordon-Reed is a graduate of Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire, where she majored in history. She earned a juris doctorate at Harvard Law School.

Wayne A. I. Frederick, president of Howard Univerity in Wahington, D.C., was selected to serve as the Charles R. Drew Endowed Chair of Surgery. The Charles R. Drew Endowed Chair of Surgery was established in the Howard University College of Medicine in the early 1990’s as a memorial to one of the most prominent African Americans in medicine, Dr. Charles R. Drew. Dr. Drew was a faculty member and head of the department of surgery at Howard University and Chief of Surgery at Freedman’s Hospital, now Howard University Hospital, before his tragic death in a car accident on April 1, 1950 at the age of 46.

Dr. Frederick was appointed the 17th president of Howard University in 2014. A native of Trinidad and Tobago, Frederick enrolled at Howard University when he was 16 years old. In six years he earned his bachelor’s and medical degrees. He completed his surgical residency at Howard and then was a surgical oncology fellow at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. He also holds an MBA from the School of Business at Howard University.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Cheyney University of Pennsylvania Placed on Accreditation Probation

The Middle States Commission on Higher Education stated that the university fell short in meeting requirements in financial planning and budget processes and compliance with laws, regulations, and commission policies.

Two Black Women Scholars Who Are Taking on New Assignments in Higher Education

Penelope Andrews was appointed the John Marshall Harlan II Professor of Law at New York Law School and Angela D. Dillard, the Richard A. Meisler Collegiate Professor of Afroamerican and African Studies at the University of Michigan, was given the added duties of the inaugural vice provost for undergraduate education.

Tuskegee University Partners With Intel to Boost Black Presence in the Semiconductor Industry

Participating Tuskegee students will have a chance to gain hands-on skills in engineering design, semiconductor processing, and device fabrication technologies and an overall valuable experience working in the microelectronics cleanroom fabrication facility at Tuskegee University.

K.C. Mmeje Honored by the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) Foundation

K.C. Mmeje is vice president for student affairs at Southern Methodist University in Dallas. The NASPA Pillars of the Profession Award acknowledges remarkable individuals within the student affairs and higher education community who demonstrate exceptional contributions to both the profession and the organization.

Featured Jobs