Spelman College Selected for the Annexstad Family Foundation’s Scholarship Program

Historically Black Spelman College in Atlanta, has been chosen as one of 20 colleges and universities nationwide to participate in the Leaders for Tomorrow scholarship program, sponsored by the Annexstad Family Foundation. The foundation was established by Cathy and Al Annexstad. He is the chair of the Minnesota-based Federated Insurance Companies.

Each year for the next 10 years, two Spelman students will receive $25,000 scholarships. To qualify for the awards, students must demonstrate significant financial need and to show that they have triumphed over personal or family hardship. Recipients must also show a potential for leadership in their chosen field of study.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Two Black Scholars Appointed to Faculty Positions

The new faculty are Esther Jones at Brown University and Dagmawi Woubshet at the University of Pennsylvania.

Ph.D. in Counselor Education and Supervision is Established at Bowie State University

"The new program will help to increase the number of counselor educators within the counseling field and the number of competent Black counselor educators," says Dr. Otis Williams, chair of the Bowie State University department of counseling and psychological studies.

Elizabeth City State University Partners With the University of Tennessee Health Science Center to Increase Representation of Black Graduate...

"We are excited by this partnership with UT Health Science Center and the opportunities this brings to our students who wish to pursue advanced degrees," said Kuldeep Rawat, dean of the Elizabeth City State University School of Science, Health and Technology.

Kimberly White-Smith Honored for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education

“Through her leadership and scholarship, Dr. White-Smith inspires a new generation of teachers to serve students and approach their work with equity, compassion, and respect,” said Gail F. Baker, provost and senior vice president at the University of San Diego. 

Featured Jobs