Decisions Made on the Future of Three HBCU Presidents in Mississippi

The Board of Trustees of the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning announced that it would not renew the contract of Donna Oliver, president of Mississippi Valley State University. Dr. Oliver’s contract expires on December 31. The board announced that an interim president would be named shortly.

Dr. Oliver became the university’s sixth president in January 2009. She is the first woman to lead the historically Black university. Prior to being named president, Dr. Oliver was provost and vice president for academic affairs at Edward Waters College in Jacksonville, Florida. From 1998 to 2007 she was vice president for academic affairs at Bennett College in Greensboro, North Carolina.

Dr. Oliver is a graduate of Elon College in North Carolina. She holds a master’s degree and a doctorate in curriculum and teaching from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She earned a second master’s degree at North Carolina A&T State University.

The board of the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning did offer four-year extensions to M. Christopher Brown, president of Alcorn State University, and Carolyn Meyers, president of Jackson State University.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Federal Report Uncovers Lack of Faculty Diversity and Delay in Federal Discrimination Complaint Processing

In addition to a lack of diversity in higher education faculty, the report revealed a frequent delay by the Department of Education when referring discrimination complaints to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

Christopher Span Appointed Dean of Rutgers University Graduate School of Education

Dr. Span, professor of education policy, organization, and leadership at the University of Illinois, is a scholar of African American educational history. He has experience in both academic and administrative leadership positions.

Lingering Mistrust From Tuskegee Syphilis Study Connected to COVID-19 Vaccine Reluctance

African Americans who lived within 750 miles of Tuskegee, Alabama, were more reluctant to receive the COVID-19 vaccine than their White neighbors, as well as Black Americans from other United States regions. The authors attribute this finding to lingering mistrust of public health services as a result of the Tuskegee Syphilis Study which ran from the 1930s to 1972.

Clayton State University Selects Corrie Fountain to Serve as Interim Provost

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve at Clayton State in this interim capacity, and I hope that my contributions will aid in the success of its students, faculty and staff," said Dr. Fountain, currently the associate provost for faculty affairs at Georgia State University.

Featured Jobs