Five New Black Members of the Institute of Medicine

The Institute of Medicine, established in 1970, is part of the National Academy of Sciences. Election to the IOM is considered one of the highest honors for members of the medical and health fields.

This year 70 new members were elected to the Institute of Medicine. Five of the new members are Black.

(L to R) Norman B. Anderson, John M. Carethers, PonJola Coney, Martin A. Philbert, and Wayne J. Riley

Norman B. Anderson is executive vice president and CEO of the American Psychological Association. He taught for 12 years at the medical school at Duke University and also taught at the Harvard School of Public Health. Dr. Anderson was the first director of the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research. He is the author of Emotional Longevity: What Really Determines How Long You Live (Viking, 2003).

Dr. Anderson is a graduate of North Carolina Central University in Durham. He holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

John M. Carethers is the John G. Searle Professor and chair of the department of internal medicine at the University of Michigan Health System. He joined the University of Michigan faculty in 2009. Previously, he was chief of the University of California-San Diego School of Medicine’s Division of Gastroenterology.

Dr. Carethers is considered one of the top gastroenterologists in the country. His research is focused on the study of colorectal cancers, especially among African Americans.

Dr. Carethers is a graduate of Wayne State University and the Wayne State University School of Medicine. He completed his residency at Massachusetts General Hospital.

PonJola Coney is a professor of obstetrics and gynecology and senior associate dean for faculty affairs at the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine in Richmond. She is the former dean of medicine and senior vice president for health affairs at Meharry Medical College in Nashville. Previously, she was a professor and chair of the department of obstetrics and gynecology at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine. She has also held faculty positions at the University of Oklahoma, the University of Nebraska, and the University of Arizona.

Dr. Coney is a graduate of Xavier University in New Orleans. She earned her medical degree at the University of Mississippi and completed her residency at the University of North Carolina.

Martin A. Philbert is professor of toxicology and dean of the University of Michigan School of Public Health. He joined the faculty at the University of Michigan in 1995 and became dean of the School of Public Health in January 2011. His research is focused on the early detection and treatment of tumors of the brain.

Dr. Philbert is a graduate of the University of Cambridge. He earned a Ph.D. in neurochemistry from the University of London.

Wayne J. Riley is president, CEO, and professor of internal medicine at Meharry Medical College.

Dr. Riley is a graduate of Yale University, where he majored in anthropology. He holds a master of public health degree from Tulane University, an MBA from Rice University, and a medical degree from the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta. He completed his residency at the Baylor College of Medicine.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Two Black Scholars Who Have Been Appointed to University Provost Positions

Nosa O. Egiebor is the new provost and executive vice chancellor at Montana Technological University in Butte and Toni Williams has been named provost and executive vice president of academic affairs at Martin University in Indianapolis.

Study Finds That Protesting NFL Players Who ‘Took a Knee’ at 2016 Games Were Penalized Financially

A recent study by scholars at the University of Colorado Boulder, the University of Connecticut, and Pennsylvania State University examined the career trajectories of the first 50 NFL athletes to kneel in protest during a pregame national anthem in 2016.

Winston Oluwole Soboyejo Named President of SUNY Polytechnic Institute

Dr. Soboyejo has been serving at Worchester Polytechnic Institute since 2017, first as dean of engineering, then provost and senior vice president, and later interim president. Earlier, Dr. Soboyejo was a professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering at Princeton University for 17 years.

Education Department Debuts the Equity in Education Dashboard

the website is divided into a series of domains, each of which includes a set of indicators. The indicators highlight disparities in education among population groups, including differences by race/ethnicity, sex, socioeconomic status, English learner status, and disability status.

Featured Jobs