Ten Black Students Awarded Truman Scholarships

The Truman Scholarship Foundation, established by Congress in 1975, has announced 62 winners of Truman Scholarships for 2013. The 62 winners were selected from a field of 629 candidates nominated by 293 colleges and universities. Each winner receives up to $30,000 for graduate study. Winners also receive an admissions edge at partnering universities, career and graduate counseling, and internship opportunities with the federal government.

Since the awards were first made in 1977, there have been 2,906 Truman Scholars. This year it appears that 10 of the 62 winners are African Americans.

(L to R) Top row: Kemi A. Oyewole, Uzoma Kenneth Orchingwa, Deon Tramaine Jones, Gabrielle Chelsea Newell, and Jessica Laurel Anderson. Second row: Evan Daniel Shepherd, Brandon Kyle Hersey, Akunna Faith Uka, Stefan Terrell Johnson, and Jordan Alyssa Metoyer.

Kemi A. Oyewole is a junior at Spelman College in Atlanta, where she is majoring in economics and mathematics. She also is the student representative on the college’s board of trustees. Oyewole plans on pursuing a Ph.D. in economics and hopes to have a career as an economist focusing on poverty issues in sub-Saharan Africa.

Uzoma Kenneth Orchingwa is a native of Chicago but lived for several years in Nigeria. He is a junior at Colby College in Maine, where he is majoring in philosophy and sociology. Orchingwa plans on attending law school and hopes to have a career in civil rights law.

Deon Tramaine Jones is a junior at American University in Washington, D.C. He is majoring in political science and plans to attend law school. Jones is the founder of the Manifest Leadership Institute, a program for incarcerated youths.

Gabrielle Chelsea Newell is a junior at the University of Chicago who lives in Washington, D.C. She is majoring in international studies and human rights. She has worked in the office of Congressman Eldophus Towns. Newell plans to attend law school.

Jessica Laurel Anderson is majoring in African and African American studies at Stanford University. She plans to seek a master’s degree in educational leadership.

Evan Daniel Shepherd is a junior at the University of Louisville. He is majoring in political science and pursuing a minor degree in economics. Shepherd plans on getting a law degree and a master’s degree in education.

Brandon Kyle Hersey is a junior at the University of Southern Mississippi, where he is majoring in political science and communication studies. He plans to pursue a doctorate in higher education.

Akunna Faith Uka is majoring in political science at Swarthmore College in Pennsylvania. She plans on studying for a master’s degree in educational policy and hopes to have a career in public education leadership.

Stefan Terrell Johnson is a junior at Villanova University in Pennsylvania. A former White House intern, he is majoring in political science and communication. He plans to earn both a master of social work degree and a law degree.

Jordan Alyssa Metoyer is a junior at the University of Texas, where she is majoring in economics and urban studies. She plans on obtaining a master of public policy degree.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Yale Library Acquires Digital Collection of Langston Hughes Papers

In a recent December upload, the Yale University Library added a collection of papers from Black poet Langston Hughes to the school's online archive. The collection contains correspondence between Hughes and other authors and civil rights activists of his time.

Academic Fields Where Blacks Earned Few or No Doctoral Degrees in 2022

In 2022, African Americans earned 1.2 percent of all mathematics and statistics doctorates, 1.2 percent of all doctorates in computer science, 1.7 percent of all doctorates in chemistry, and only 1.7 percent of all doctorates awarded in engineering disciplines.

Historically Black Central State University Appoints Morakinyo Kuti as President

Morakinyo A.O. Kuti has been named president of historically Black Central State University in Ohio. Dr. Kuti has held numerous leadership roles in his tenure with the university, most recently serving as vice president of research and economic development.

University of Alabama Creates Database Relating to History of Slavery on Campus

Scholars from the University of Alabama created an online database housing information on the history of slavery on the university's campus. The new website is the latest effort in a larger initiative from the Consortium of Universities Studying Slavery to uncover the history of enslaved individuals who labored for colleges and universities across the world.

Featured Jobs