Two African American Scholars Honored With Prestigious Awards

cleckleyFranklin D. Cleckley, the Arthur B. Hodges Professor of Law at West Virginia University, received the 2013 Neil S. Bucklew award for Social Justice from the university’s Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Professor Cleckley has served on the university’s faculty for 44 years and was the first African American to achieve the rank of full professor at WVU. He will be retiring at the end of the academic year.

Professor Cleckley is a graduate of Anderson College in Indiana and the law school at Indiana University. He later earned a master of law degree at Harvard University.

donnaFordPhotoDonna Y. Ford, a professor of education and human development at the Peabody College of Education of Vanderbilt University, was selected as a winner of the Faculty Achievement Award from the Southeastern Conference.  One scholar from each of the 14 universities that are members of the conference is selected to win the award which honors achievement in research and scholarship.

Professor Ford is the co-author of Teaching Culturally Diverse Gifted Students (Prufrock Press, 2005) and the author of the forthcoming book Recruiting and Retaining Culturally Different Students in Gifted Education (Prufrock Press, 2013). She hold bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees, all from Cleveland State University.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Virginia State University Receives Approval to Launch MBA Program

“I am confident this program will equip our diverse population of men and women with the knowledge, skills, and experiences necessary to thrive in today’s ever-evolving world of business," said Emmanual Omojokun, dean of the Virginia State University College of Business.

Three Black Scholars Receive Faculty Appointments

The appointments are Erica Armstrong Dunbar at Emory University in Atlanta, Kimberly Haynie at the University of Arkansas Pine Bluff, and Kevin Vandiver at Virginia Theological Seminary.

Delaware State University Aviation Program Establishes Partnership with Endeavor Air

Through a new memorandum of understanding, students in the aviation program at Delaware State University will have the opportunity to enroll in a pathway program with Endeavor Air, ultimately leading to a priority interview with the airline company upon completion of required flight hours.

American College of Physicians Honors Bruce Ovbiagele for Advancing Diversity in Healthcare

Dr. Ovbiagele's academic career has been dedicated to eliminating local and global stroke disparities, as well as mentoring medical students and researchers from underrepresented groups.

Featured Jobs