Georgia State Honors the Black Students Who Sued the University to Force Racial Integration

Georgia State University recently honored three women who sued for their right to attend the university in the 1950s in a groundbreaking court case that eventually led to the integration of Georgia State and other universities in the South.

The university honored Myra Payne Elliott, Barbara Pace Hunt, and Iris Mae Welch, who with the help of the NAACP sued in 1956 for their right to attend Georgia State. Elliott, Hunt and Welch were the plaintiffs in the case Hunt v. Arnold, filed by the NAACP. Because of their challenge to segregation, the women faced hatred, vile statements from state legislators, and threats from white supremacists, including members of the Ku Klux Klan.

The three women won the case in a 1959 court decision but were still prevented from enrolling at the institution through laws enacted by the state legislature and policies set forth by the board of regents. The case was the NAACP’s first federal court victory against segregated education in Georgia. Georgia State would not integrate until 1962.

At the recent ceremony at Georgia State, the three women’s story was presented in a new mini-documentary from the university’s School of Film, Media & Theatre. The story is also told in the new book Ground Crew: The Fight to End Segregation at Georgia State (University of Georgia Press, 2019) authored by Maurice C. Daniels, dean emeritus and professor emeritus at the School of Social Work at the University of Georgia.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Central State University to Merge Two Colleges to Optimize Resources and Efficiency

The primary goal of the merger is to improve operational efficiency, support increased enrollment, and optimize resources. Notably, the focus on operational streamlining does not include any plans for staff or faculty layoffs.

Four Black Scholars Selected for Dean Positions

The dean appointments are Chukwuka Onwumechili at Howard University, Myra Bozeman at Sinclair Community College in Dayton, Ohio, Joan Tilghman at Coppin State University in Baltimore, and Omolola Eniola-Adefeso at the University of Illinois.

Voorhees University Launches Its First Doctor of Education Degree Program

The new doctor of education in leadership program will offer two specialized tracks for students, preparing them to become successful leaders in their chosen educational field. Students can choose to focus their studies on either PK-12 education or higher education administration.

Fielding Graduate University Honors Ronald Mason for Lifetime Achievements in HBCU Leadership

Ronald Mason has served as president of three HBCUs: Jackson State University, Southern University and A&M College, and the University of the District of Columbia, where he was the longest tenured president in the university's history.

Featured Jobs