Texas A&M’s Karen Butler-Purry Honored for Her Leadership in Graduate Education

Karen Butler-Purry, associate provost and dean of the Graduate and Professional School at Texas A&M University, has been named the 2021 recipient of the Debra Stewart Award for Outstanding Leadership in Graduate Education by the Council of Graduate Schools.

The Council of Graduate Schools praised Dr. Butler-Purry for improving graduate students’ quality of life, educational experiences, professional development opportunities, as well as expanding access and funding opportunities for underrepresented minoritized students. In addition, CGS recognized her service as chair of the CGS board of directors and on the executive board of the Association of American Universities’ Association of Graduate Schools and her advocacy for graduate education across the country in the areas of graduate student well-being, diversifying career pathways, and broadening diversity resources.

Dr. Butler-Purry said she was especially honored to receive the Debra Stewart award, given the role Stewart played in her development as a leader in graduate education. “This is a special honor,” Dr. Butler-Purry said. “Debra took me under her wing as I transitioned into my leadership role in graduate education at Texas A&M and in my early involvement with CGS. Her mentorship has been invaluable to me over the years, and her leadership, passion, and dedication to advancing graduate education has been something I have tried to emulate.”

Dr. Butler-Purry is a graduate of Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, where she majored in electrical engineering. She holds a master’s degree in electrical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Howard University in Washington, D.C.

Below is a video of Dr. Butler-Purry discussing the award.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Three African Americans Appointed to New Academic Positions

Leon Prieto, Kofi Afrifah, and Andrea Moore have been appointed to new academic positions at Clayton University, Bowie State University, and Savannah State University, respectively.

Historic HBCU Landmark Revitalized Through National Park Service Grant

Through three restoration grants totaling $2 million, the Rosenwald Practice School and Principal House will be fully restored, becoming the new home for the Northeastern North Carolina African American Research and Cultural Heritage Institute.

Five Black Leaders Appointed to Administrative Positions

Here is this week’s roundup of African American who have been appointed to new administrative positions at colleges and universities throughout the United States. If you have news for our appointments section, please email the information to contact@JBHE.com.

North Carolina A&T University Establishes Research Partnership with Collins Aerospace

“There are direct relations to the research we do in the College of Engineering and the mission purpose of Collins Aerospace,” said Stephanie Luster-Teasley, interim dean of the College of Engineering at North Carolina A&T State University. “Being able to partner with Collins really gives our students the opportunities for hands-on research at each level – undergraduate and graduate.”

Featured Jobs