Eight African Americans Among the 33 New Members of the American Philosophical Society

The American Philosophical Society was founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin. The society honors distinguished scientists, social scientists, humanities scholars, artists, and societal leaders with membership in the society. Members have included George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Robert Frost, Thomas Edison, Sandra Day O’Connor, Charles Darwin, Toni Morrison, and Albert Einstein.

This year the society granted membership to 33 individuals. Of these eight are African Americans with ties to the academic world in the United States.

Marilyn Raphael, professor of geography, director of the UCLA Institute of the Environment and Sustainability, University of California, Los Angeles
Emery N. Brown, the Edward Hood Taplin Professor of Medical Engineering and of Computational Neuroscience, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; and the Warren M. Zapol Professor of Anaesthesia, Harvard Medical School
Carol Anderson, the Charles Howard Candler Professor, department of African American studies, Emory University
Jennifer Lynn Eberhardt, the Morris M. Doyle Centennial Professor of Public Policy, William R. Kimball Professor at the Graduate School of Business, and professor of psychology, Stanford University
James Forman Jr., professor Yale Law School
Kellie Jones, professor of art history and archaeology and African American studies, and the Hans Hofmann Professor of Modern Art, Columbia University
Dorothy E. Roberts, the George A. Weiss University Professor of Law & Sociology, the Raymond Pace & Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Professor of Civil Rights, University of Pennsylvania
Tracy K. Smith, the Susan S. and Kenneth L. Wallach Professor, Harvard Radcliffe Institute; professor of English and of African and African American studies, Harvard University

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Get the JBHE Weekly Bulletin

Receive our weekly email newsletter delivered to your inbox

Latest News

Three African Americans Who Have Been Appointed to Diversity Posts in Higher Education

Terrence Mitchell was appointed executive director for Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Justice at Mercyhurst University in Erie, Pennsylvania. Faye Belgrave has been named vice president and chief diversity officer at Virginia Commonwealth University and Tammy Bennett is the inaugural vice president for inclusive excellence in philanthropy at the University of Cincinnati Foundation.

Federal Government Calls on States to End Funding Disparities at Black Land-Grant Universities

The federal government sent letters to 16 governors emphasizing the over $12 billion disparity in funding between land-grant Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and their non-HBCU land-grant peers in their states. Unequitable appropriated funding of the 1890 institutions in the states ranges from $172 million to $2.1 billion.

A Trio of Black Scholars in New Faculty Roles at Universities

The City College of New York has appointed Jervette R. Ward as director of the Black Studies Program. Scotti Branton is a new assistant professor of communication at the University of Arkansas, and professor Danille Taylor was appointed director of the Clark Atlanta University Art Museum.

Shaw University to Expand Its Presence to Research Triangle Park

The collaboration will secure Shaw University a dedicated office space within Frontier RTP innovation campus, located in the heart of the city's new vibrant downtown area. The space will include private offices and an administrative area dedicated to Shaw University, as well as classroom space.

Featured Jobs